Agreement Nuclear Weapon

Several NPT parties have renounced nuclear weapons or nuclear weapons programs. South Africa undertook a nuclear weapons programme, but in the meantime abandoned it and joined the treaty in 1991 after destroying its small nuclear arsenal; Subsequently, other African countries signed the treaty. The former Soviet republics in which nuclear weapons were deployed, namely Ukraine, Belarus and Kazakhstan, transferred these weapons to Russia and joined the nuclear non-proliferation programme in 1994 after the signing of the Budapest Memorandum on Security Guarantees. [Citation required] Countries that, as non-nuclear-weapon States, have become parties to the Non-Proliferation Treaty, have a strong record of not building nuclear weapons, although some have tried and one of them has finally left the non-proliferation zone and acquired nuclear weapons. Iraq was deemed by the IAEA to be a violation of its protection obligations and punishable by the UN Security Council. North Korea has never complied with its NPT protection agreement and has been repeatedly cited for these violations[30] and subsequently withdrew from the Non-Proliferation Treaty and tested several nuclear equipment. In an unusual non-consensus decision, Iran was declared in a non-consensual decision that it “has not been able to report aspects of its enrichment program in a number of cases for a long period of time.” [31] [32] In 1991, Romania notified the former regime of undeclared nuclear activities and the IAEA informed the Security Council only for information. Libya followed a secret nuclear weapons programme before abandoning it in December 2003. The IAEA has reported to the UN Security Council, which has done nothing, the non-compliance with security measures in Syria. On 22 and 26 February, the United Nations held the first meeting of the second unit in Geneva, Switzerland, on concrete legal measures to ban nuclear weapons. The meeting focused on measures to address the risk of an accidental, unauthorized or deliberate explosion of nuclear weapons, as well as the humanitarian risk posed by such a nuclear explosion.

Five nuclear-weapon States (China, France, Russia, Great Britain and the United States) are recognized by the treaty. All other signatories are considered non-nuclear states and undertake not to acquire nuclear weapons, while nuclear-weapon States undertake not to transfer nuclear weapons to a non-nuclear state or to assist them in retaining them in any way. It is the pillar of non-proliferation. The treaty requires the United States and Russia to reduce and mutually limit strategic nuclear weapons, with each side reserving the right to determine the structure of its strategic offensive weapons. Efforts to ban nuclear weapons date back to the beginning of the nuclear era. However, the Nuclear Weapons Ban Treaty has its origins in the Humanitarian Initiative, a group of states that have not issued nuclear weapons, which have attempted to advance nuclear disarmament by focusing on the serious humanitarian consequences of nuclear war. The movement`s support in the international community has severely prevented supporters of the humanitarian initiative from making significant progress towards nuclear disarmament at the 2015 Nuclear Non-Proliferation Review Conference (NPT). While commendable, the effectiveness of the treaty is questionable, given that none of the nine currently nuclear-weapon States supported or signed the treaty.